Tata IPL Winners & Runners-up List (All 14 Seasons)

March 27, is the day when season 15 of the most awaited domestic cricket series of the world, IPL will start its journey. It can be the 27th March according to Tata IPL 2022 Time Table update by Cricket Board. Indian premier League inaugurated in 2008. Since then it has been the most popular and most celebrated cricket league in the world. We are all set to witness the battle between the 10 franchises of IPL for one common goal i.e. to lift the Tata IPL 2022 trophy.

As everyone is eagerly waiting to see a new champion for the upcoming IPL T20 series, let’s look back to the IPL history. If you look at the winning teams, some have already won more than once while there are some teams waiting for their first-ever IPL T20 trophy.

IPL Winners and Runners-up List

If we come to stats Mumbai Indians are the most favorable team with 5 trophies, while Chennai Super Kings with 4 trophies to their name. Talking about others Kolkata Knight Riders have 2 trophies to their name, while Deccan, Hyderabad, and Rajasthan all lifted the trophy once.

Look at the below table for winner, and runner up teams year by year.

YearWinnerRunner-upNumber of teams
2021Chennai Super KingsKolkata Knight Riders8
2020Mumbai IndiansDelhi Capitals8
2019Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings8
2018Chennai Super KingsSunrisers Hyderabad8
2017Mumbai IndiansRising Pune Supergiants8
2016Sunrisers HyderabadRoyal Challengers Bangalore8
2015Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings8
2014Kolkata Knight RidersKings XI Punjab8
2013Mumbai IndiansChennai Super Kings9
2012Kolkata Knight RidersChennai Super Kings9
2011Chennai Super KingsRoyal Challengers Bangalore10
2010Chennai Super KingsMumbai Indians8
2009Deccan ChargersRoyal Challengers Bangalore8
2008Rajasthan RoyalsChennai Super Kings8

Last updated: 16.10.2021